Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
programming your own rootkit in C via the LD_PRELOAD trick
I wrote this and I have shared it on multiple forums.

I wrote this to share what I was learning, I'm not a fucking expert, criticize me all you want, and since I don't have much to share here, have this.
Ugh, luakit crashed so I'm having to rewrite this entire tutorial from scratch, I'm going to try and detail this as much as possible.
What is LD_PRELOAD?
Exactly what it sounds like, LD_PRELOAD points to a shared library and loads it before any other libraries, allowing you to overwrite predefined libraries or instructions before anything is actually executed. LD_PRELOAD is present in many modern rootkits such as Azazel and Jynx2, I'll leave the github pages for Azazel and Jynx2 at the bottom of this guide.

How does this help?
I'm hoping that you have a tiny idea of how rootkits operate and how they work and whatnot. Well using LD_PRELOAD you can overwrite libraries, so you can replace already existing libraries with your own, either to cause damage or to patch a vulnerability, whatever the fuck you want, I don't care.

How are these libraries installed?
Let's take a look at the install script I made for panther and procedurally break down each step it goes through to make this easy.
[Image: zaafri.png]
script opens
script identifies which uid is executing the script, if = 0 continue, else exit
dynamically compile with all warnings, library inclusion allowed, don't link the output and output the bin as panther.o
compile the dynamic bin as a shared library, local lib inclusion allowed, passing -soname to the linker, linking libvimcore.so, linking the dl lib, outputting as libvimcore.so, and target bin panther.o
skip these 2 lines
installing the shared library under read/write/execute (owner) + read/execute (other users) (755) into the /lib/ directory
pointing LD_PRELOAD to the newly installed library so that /lib/libvimcore.so loads before any other library