Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fernflower not renaming fields/methods
Bug 
Hey,

I am new to the Java Reverse Engineering scene and have started out using FernFlower.

I am currently working on a project which simply decompiles and refactors a jar. It is all going well except for one major issue: It doesnt rename the fields/methods when they are declared, it does when they are referenced but not when they are declared.

For example:
My renaming class will rename field "aa" to "String_1"
I will end up with this:
String aa;

class_13(String someString) {
String_1 = someString;
}

This is obviously not ideal.

I have tried looking through the source code of FernFlower but i cannot find the issue.

I have emailed fernflower.decompiler@gmail.com but have not recieved a reply as of yet and thought it would be worth looking for help elsewhere.

I hope you can help me out,

Thanks Smile
are you using the orginal fernflower or the one jetbrains stole and claimed as their own?
edit: not changing this edit snip

[Image: 485bLTI]
(05-10-2015, 09:59 PM)Bibl Wrote:  are you using the orginal fernflower or the one jetbrains stole and claimed as their own?

I am using the fernflower from https://github.com/fesh0r/fernflower. I have just cloned and built it.
you could use proguard or retroguard to rename the fields or make your own field renamer (methods are a bit tricker).
(05-11-2015, 03:52 AM)Bibl Wrote:  you could use proguard or retroguard to rename the fields or make your own field renamer (methods are a bit tricker).

Like, editing the bytecode?
asm for java
and
https://github.com/TheBiblMan/Byte-Engineer-2

although its not really full/done
just tried fernflower and the same thing is happening for me, guess you should rename with proguard or retroguard.
(05-15-2015, 06:51 AM)Bibl Wrote:  just tried fernflower and the same thing is happening for me, guess you should rename with proguard or retroguard.